My Very Own Cello

 

Rick borrowed me one of his cellos. He has 3 (two of his, and one belongs to his daughter).

That beautiful instrument spent more than two weeks at my living room. Every evening for that two weeks, I went home as soon as I can, just to arrive early enough to play the cello.

Well the first lesson just gave me an exercise of open strings, but that’s more than enough for me. The sound: oh, my dear! Within less than 3 days, I already decided to have a cello of my own. There’s no renting here, so yes I have to buy one. Rick helped me to contact one specific music outlet, “This is a trusted one,” Rick said. Let’s go!

So yes: I bought my cello with my “singing/side jobs” money. And boy, it’s very expensive! I think this one reason for me to keep playing this instrument. It really cost me a lot. An additional to that expensive cello, I bought its hard case –the bright red case made of fiber. It’s so sleek. Love it.

IMG_3049

When it got home, I called Rick. And he came the next morning, tried to tune it. Unfortunately, it didn’t work well. Something’s wrong. I was so sad and worried. But Rick calmed me out, he said, “The shop will change the tailpiece. Don’t worry.”

The next day, I went to the shop, which took me 90 minutes to get there. Boy, it’s so far away. The shop is not that big, a part of the principal’s office. Yes, the shop is a part of this Jakarta Music Academy, founded by Mr. Jap Tjie Kien and his wife, Mrs. Kuei Pin Yeo.

Mr. Jap himself took my cello, and brought it to his office that filled with so many cellos, violins in many different sizes, and acoustic bass. And Rick’s right, one part of my cello should be changed. Its tailpiece’s not working.

Looking at how my cello’s being fixed, was so interesting. But what made it even more exciting and assuring was having a casual, friendly and fruitful conversation with Mr. Jap, the founder of the academy/composer/violinist/ professor/ teacher of my teacher. Mr. Jap and his wife, Madame Kuei Pin Yeo –the famous pianist & my idol- stubbornly dedicate their lives to Indonesian young talented musicians.

Mr. Jap said, out of all children and from any country all over the world, Indonesian children are the most talented children on earth. “You can teach them anything. And in a very short time, the become expert. Play beautifully, with the right emotion, the precision… they’re perfect. But, they’re so quick to quit”

“A bit lazy, maybe?” I asked. And he smiled, and nodded, “Yes. If only Indonesian children have 30% (mind you, only 30%) of Chinese children’s willingness and diligent, we will rule the world of music in this universe.” Wow: UNIVERSE, he said. “Maybe Indonesian water and rice that make us so musical,” he added, smiling.

This is great to know and wish many parents know about this, so they can help their children to concentrate more/be more focused and stay firm on whatever instrument they choose to play.

While waiting for Mr. Jap to fix the tailpiece, Mr. Jap managed to find out that it’s me who’s going to play the instrument. Of course I added my daughter’s name as a player, just to make it sounds right. But apparently he took it seriously. He said that it’s great. He said many adults decided to play music today, at the mature age, and they play good.

Oh my, how relieved I was, am and will always be.

Thank you, Sir.

You made my day.

jtk
#myidol: Mr. Jap

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

